Posted in Poetry

Rehoboth.

I’m sorry I missed your sister’s wedding
I’ve missed your calls for months it seems
Don’t realize how mean I can be
Because I can sometimes treat the people
That I love like jewelry
Because I can change my mind each day
I didn’t mean to try you on
I swear.
But I still know your birthday
And that feeling of being
scared of meeting your parents
That night after work

I’m sorry
for that night on Rehoboth
The ocean swept me away
with you that night
The tides crashing into my feelings
I said things
I thought I meant them
I’m sorry
Every time I fall into my bed
Those flowers I gave you
How sad you were when
they were eventually dead
I feel it over again
In my head
I’m sorry

I know I made your heart bleed
and I’m sorry
It’s just you gave my heart
feeling
As alive as I was
when I was sixteen.
Sneaking in your house
Jumping out your bedroom window
When your parents came home
See, It wasn’t all a lie
I did care.

I abused the love you gave me
Maybe that’s why
I can’t trust the love other people
give to me
Afraid they might pull a me…
on me
And take it all away
one lonely day.

And to think
It started at the 302
Getting lost in you

Leave a Reply

