Posted in Poetry

Sweet n’ Low

I’ll put you in every cup of coffee I’ll ever have
To sweeten it up. Just like you do me
For my everyday and the rest of my life
Small enough to put in pocket
And take you everywhere I go
Ready to pour into every cup of coffee


Life serves me
No matter how awful tasting it is
I have my Sweet n’ Low
The sweet taste that always trickles on my tongue
The love that fills my lungs
Makes me forget that bitter aftertaste
Of those especially bad cups of joe.
Filled with highs and lows
I just know to reach for my pocket
and sprinkle you in for every bad cup
of life’s worst coffees.

 

Leave a Reply

